Monthly Archives: April 2009

LIGHT SHADOW AND REFLECTION


GRADED UNIT ACTION PLAN 27/4/09

Part 1: Theme/Brief

LIGHT, SHADOW AND REFLECTION

Look at different ways of interpreting light, shadow and reflection in a contemporary art piece.

LIGHT:  Something that makes things visible or affords illumination:  All colours depend on light.  A particular light or illumination in which an object seen takes on a certain appearance.

SHADOW: A dark figure or image cast on the ground or some surface by a body intercepting light.  A reflected image.  The representation of the absence of light  on a form.

REFLECTION: An image; representation; counterpart.

It wasnt until I looked at my huge file of photographs that I realised I am fascinated by light, reflection and shadows – I have taken hundreds of pictures of shadows and reflections – also used my camera phone to film light moving across surfaces and numerous short films of shadows.  I want to research the history of shadows in art and create a body of work on the theme.

Sources and Resources

Research shadows in Art , the history of the shadow representing the psyche and soul.  Visit camera obscura. Plato’s Allegory of the cave. Internet and library.  Look at the work of Dan Flavin, look at neons.  German Expressionist film and the use of light in artists Films.  Print out a selection of my own photographs.  Use resources available to me include Sculpture Workshop for exhibition, Printmakers Workshop for stone litho, Stills for printing.

Techniques and Processes

Using photography (dvd and printed media). Sketching ideas and making maquettes – final pieces in welded iron.

Timescale

Week One
21-26 April PLANNING AND RESEARCH
Thursday 23 April – Hand in – 1st draft action plan
Sat 25 April Visit zoo to take advantage of the sunlight for photographing shadows
Sun 26 April Look at my own photography archives

Week Two
27 – 3 April INITIAL INTERPRETATION
Mon 27 April Photoshop photographs and print them to put up in my space, finalize first draft
Tues 28 April Download my films from phone to YouTube and publish them on WordPress
Wed 29 April Taking outdoor photos
Thurs 30 April Sketchbook work
Friday 1 May Research
Sat 2 May Printmakers Workshop Stone Lithography course
Sun 3 May Day 2 of Litho course

Week Three
4 – 10 May EXPANDING ON WEEK 2
Mon 4 May School closed – updating blog with photos
Tues 5 May Mentoring Session Development Stage – finalizing ideas 
Wed 6 May Working with projections from photos
Thurs 7 May  Working with fabric and light in college for DVD
Fri 8 May  Working with fabric and shadow in my studio for DVD
Sat 9 May  Upload work onto YouTube
Sun 10 May 

Week Four 4
11 – 17 May START ON FINAL CONCEPTS
Mon 11 May GROUP CRIT
Tues 12 May Draft business cards and cv
Wed 13 May  Final artwork for business card sent off/cv printed
Thurs 14 May Developing 2 
Fri 15 May  Iron sundial made – leave outside to rust in rain
Sat 16 May Website design
Sun 17 May  Website update

Week Five
18 – 24 May DEVELOPING FINAL CONCEPTS – Bruce Nauman talk at Stills
Mon 18 May School closed – work at home sketchbook etc – letters for publicity based on last night
Tues 19 May School closed DEVELOPMENT SESSION 
Wed 20 May  1/2 day photos / afternoon sketching/collaging 
Thurs 21 May  Day of photographs – very sunny
Fri 22 May  Print out final 2 sets of photographs – website now live – sarah-ewilson.co.uk
Sat 23 May In London
Sun 24 May Home – mounted photos

Week Six
25 – 31 May PREPARATION FOR EXHIBITION
Mon 25 May  Finalising paperwork
Tues 26 May EVALUATING
Wed 27 May Paint space in ESW
Thurs 28 May
Fri 29 May EXHIBITION OPENS 6pm
Sat 30 May
Sun 31 May EVALUATION SESSION AT ESW


THE FINAL TOOL BOX / ANYONE FOR JENGA

block-4block1block2

block-51